An afternoon and evening of musical events in this wonderfully beautiful and peaceful location overlooking the Severn Vale.

Featuring Madeleine Mitchell (violin) and Geoffrey Poole (piano)

An eclectic virtuoso of the violin Madeleine Mitchell has inspired living composers to a staggering degree. (BBC Radio 3)

Visitors are invited to picnic in the gardens during the break between afternoon workshops and evening concert.

Sunday 18th June:

2.00pm Programme of music workshops and discussions focussing on the spiritual dimension in music and the role of the unconscious mind in musical creativity.

Contributors include Geoffrey Poole, David Greenhorne, Clement Jewitt, Jolyon Laycock and Trevor Jones

6.00pm* Concert featuring music by Severnside Composers. performed by Madeleine Mitchell (violin) and Geoffrey Poole (piano)

* Please note start time


Day tickets (includes admission to workshops and concert): £18 / £15 concessions (students and seniors). concert only £12 / £9 concessions

The bar will be open at concert


Trevor Jones At Ganina Yama

David Greenhorne Guan Yin

Clement Jewitt Canto

Jolyon Laycock The Persistence of Memory (2016)

Geoffrey Poole I Ching pieces

Ludwig van Beethoven Violin Sonata no.10 in G Op 96 (1812)

Beethoven’s sublime G major classic has a special place in the working relationship of Madeleine Mitchell and Geoffrey Poole. It is the work that first brought them together as a performing duo. Hawkwood’s beautiful Cotswold location with its fine 250-year-old sycamore is the setting for this concert of music by Severnside Composers whose work draws inspiration from a variety of spiritual sources. Trevor Jones At Ganina Yama uses Russian Orthodox plainchants. David Greenhorne draws on the writings of the Buddhist teacher Guan Yin, venerated as the personification of compassion. Geoffrey Poole’s piano miniatures are inspired by texts from the ancient Chinese “Book of Changes”. Jolyon Laycock’s “Persistence of Memory” is named after Salvador Dali’s famous Surrealist painting. Clement Jewitt’s music tends towards the condition of silence.

Severnside Composers Alliance (SCA) was formed in 2002 by a group of composers based in the Bristol, Bath and Gloucestershire area to promote performances of their own music and to stimulate a wider interest in the composition and performance of new music in the region.

Supported by Arts Council England, the Summerfield Trust, Make Music Gloucester and the Carducci Foundation

Booking Link:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s